May 24, 2023

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE LOCAL SCHOOL COUNCIL ADVISORY BOARD FOR THE TERM OF OFFICE JULY 1, 2023 - JUNE 30, 2025

WHEREAS, the Illinois School Code, 105 ILCS 5/34-3.3, directed the Chicago Board of Education ("Board") to establish a local school council advisory board comprised of serving local school council members to serve in an advisory role to the Board; and

WHEREAS, the Board established the Local School Council Advisory Board ("LSCAB") in February 1996 to serve in an advisory capacity to the Board on issues related to local school council elections, operations, powers and duties, and school improvement plans; as liaison between local school council members and senior staff and as advisor to the Board on other issues regarding the school district, as requested; and

WHEREAS, the Board established the LSCAB as a fifteen (15) member body to serve two-year terms of office; and

WHEREAS, the LSCAB is comprised of six (6) members elected by local school council members serving in each of six (6) geographic regions and nine (9) members appointed by the Board from among local school council members serving in the six (6) geographic regions, with consideration given to racial, ethnic, gender, regional, special interest and category balance;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CHICAGO BOARD OF EDUCATION:

- The Local School Council members named on the attached Exhibit A are hereby appointed to serve on the Local School Council Advisory Board for the term of office commencing July 1, 2031 and ending June 30, 2023.
- 2. This Resolution shall be effective July 1, 2023.

EXHIBIT A

LSC Members Appointed to the LSCAB for New Term of Office

Elected Members

Name	School	Member Type	Region
Nathan W. Morrissey	McPherson ES	Parent	Northeast
Williams D. Juztiz	Canty ES	Parent	Northwest
Stephen S. Mitchell	Bronzeville Classical ES	Parent	East Central
Claudia Muniz	Curie HS	Parent	West Central
Achietta Shannon	Smith ES	Community	Southeast
Froylan I. Jimenez	Hancock HS	Teacher	Southwest

Appointed Members

Name	School	Member Type	Region
lleana Inserni (Chair)	Tubman ES	Parent	Northeast
Isreal Flores	Foreman HS	Community	Northwest
Maria Aguilar	Lozano ES	Parent	East Central
Uriah Muhammad	LaSalle Language ES	Parent	East Central
Michelle Miller	Bennette ES	Parent	Southeast
Rashaud N. Branscomb	Burnhan ES	Parent	Southeast
Marcelina Pedraza	G. Washington ES	Parent	Southeast
Lynda Smith	Sarah E. Goode HS	Parent	Southwest
Keisha Kidan	Lenart ES	Parent	Southwest